P.hD Study – An Introduction

Hi, I’m Evelyn a P.hD researcher within the Department of Social Sciences at the University of Wolverhampton. I’m exploring the role of the Quaker Unit of humanitarian aid workers called the Friends Ambulance Unit [FAU] active during and after both World Wars.

 

IMG_1789

 The Quaker memorial site, National Memorial Arboretum Alrewas, Staffordshire. For more information please see the memorial trust page at http://www.qsmt.org.uk

 

I started my research in November 2015 as a part-time student and am hoping to begin teaching in September 2016. As I am half german on my mother’s side, I am particularly looking forward to delving into the archives and discovering first-hand accounts of life in war-torn Berlin, an experience my mother never spoke about. Additionally, I hope to use this blog as an online progress report and repository for future papers and presentations. And finally, if I can inspire just one person to commit to post-graduate study after reading of my exploits my humble efforts will not have been in vain – thank you for your interest and don’t hesitate to ask any questions regarding my work or the University experience.

Leave a comment